Buddha Sasanaṁ Ciraṁ Tiṭṭhatu!

May the Buddha’s teachings last a long time!

​Bhavatu Sabba Sotiṁ ca Maṅgalaṁ ca!! 

May everyone be led on the path of peace and blessing!!

Three stages of Wisdom

The Buddha described three stages of Wisdom.

Firstly, Sutta-mayā-paññā is based on knowledge which one has heard or read from others. We know it only because others have told us.
Secondly, Cintā-mayā-paññā is acquired through our own consideration and reflection upon that which was heard or read.
Lastly, Bhāvanā -mayā-paññā is experiential wisdom based on our own efforts toward mental development.

This can be compared to learning to play the violin. You may hear the violin played by others, read about how to play it, study the mechanics of playing it, but only by actually picking up the violin and practicing will you actually develop the skill to play it yourself.

All Buddhist practitioners must not only know about Buddhist ideas, but must progress to the practice required to develop their own wisdom. For example, you may know about the three Lakkhana, the characteristics of all phenomena, Anicca, Dukkha, Anattā. This is Suta-mayā-paññā. You must consider this knowledge, exploring its connections to your own experience. In this way it becomes more than just knowledge. By becoming connected with heart, it leads to a deeper understanding of the phenomenon in Dhamma during daily life and the development of your own wisdom.

To cultivate the wisdom which can be our refuge amid all the vicissitudes of life, we must progress beyond Suta-mayā-paññā, Cintā-mayā-paññā to Bhāvanā -mayā-paññā. Without the purification and mental development that comes from practice, we cannot reach our goal.

May all accumulate the Paramīs and accomplish their own wishes!
May all beings be happy and well through the practices in this very life!

Ayyā Kosallā & Mahāpajāpatī Bhikkhunī Sangha

What is Wisdom?  How to develop Wisdom?

Wisdom is the ability to understand Dhamma, the Universal Truth which transcends time and space. It is one of the three branches in the study of Buddhism (Pariyatti) The three branches (Ti-Sikkha) are sīla,  Samādhi and paññā (Morality, Tranquility and Wisdom) The three branches are interrelated – each supports and relies upon the other two.

Through study and practice of meditation, we work on developing all of the three: morality, tranquility and wisdom. Meditation is not simply sitting in a certain position with eyes closed. Meditation is for the purpose of developing awareness of all phenomena not only while sitting, but also while going about all of our daily activities.

The Noble Eightfold Path (Ariyo Attanghiko Magga) is the essence of the Buddha’s teaching on how to reach the Ultimate Happiness of Nibbana by developing all three branches. The eight aspects fall into three categories corresponding to morality, tranquility and wisdom.

This branch consists of Right Speech (Samma Vaca), Right Action (Samma Kammanta) and Right Livelihood (Samma Ajiva). Without a strong foundation in morality, we cannot develop tranquility.

This branch consists of Right Effort (Samma Vayama), Right Mindfulness (Samma Sati) and Right Concentration (Samma Samadhi). We need a strong foundation in Tranquility in order to develop Wisdom.

There are two kinds of Wisdom, mundane (Lokiya) and supramundane (Lokuttara) To reach the Ultimate Happiness of Nibbana, we must practice Right Understanding (Samma Ditthi) and Right Thought (Samma Sankappa).

In our daily lives, we can begin to cultivate the mind. We can do good deeds for others with body, word and mind. Doing good deeds leads to increased happiness and the good Kamma (Karma) thus created will return to oneself. To serve others is to accumulate an invisible savings account. Therefore, helping others is actually helping yourself.

All conditioned things are impermanent.
When one sees this with Wisdom, one turns away from suffering.
All conditioned things are unsatisfactory.
When one sees this with Wisdom, one turns away from suffering.
All things are not-self.
When one sees this with Wisdom, one turns away from suffering.
-Dhammapada 260-

What is Buddhism?   

Is it a religion?

Religion is described in the dictionary as a system of mental culture that seeks to gain peace and happiness by believing in, worshipping and recognizing God or the Absolute. According to this criterion, Buddhism is not within the scope of religion because Buddha is not taken as God or the Absolute. The term ‘Buddha’ means the ‘Complete Knowing One’. There have been a number of Buddhas in the past. Gautama did not act as or seek to become a religious leader. He simply taught The Dhamma.

The Dhamma was set up as framework of his teaching . Dhamma is a Pali word that has many meanings, one of which is ‘Natural Law’. Buddha seeks a healthy human posture from "Wisdom" to maintain the "Medial mode of living (Majjima patipada)".

Wisdom (Paññā) is the ability to understand the Dhamma. Then Wisdom(Paññā) will lead to the enlightenment. For this purpose, we do meditation. Then what is meditation? The practice of meditation is a way to train the mind and develop the Wisdom (Paññā) necessary to understand the ‘Natural Law’.

This series of Dhamma Letters will explore the ways in which meditation practice, training the mind and developing Wisdom can lead to a healthy human outlook and the ultimate happiness of Enlightenment(Nibbana).

  • Pali is a language of Buddha. It was a base of Sanskrit.

  • Pali terms : Sāsana means Teaching, Paññā is Wisdom, Dhamma is known as Dharma and Nibbana is known as Nirvana in Mahayana Budhhism.

Mahapajapati Monastery © 2016-18